Penycae v Brymbo

SCORERS: Andrew Swarbrick
Calyn Spencer
Ruben Monterio
STARTING XI: 1. Tom Belton 2. Jack Edwards 3. Adam Davies 4. Jake Ellison 5. Tom Spearritt 6. Jack Abraham 7. Mamadie Sheriff 8. Calyn Spencer 9. Andrew Swarbrick 10. Anthony Dunleavy 11. Tomas Edwards
SUBSTITUTES: 12. Leighton Kendrick 14. Josh Millington 15. Jack Brindley 16. Ruben Monterio

There was one Premier Division game played and there was a seven goal thriller at Afoneitha where Brymbo defeated their hosts Penycae 4-3. It was a feisty affair leaving Penycae manager Ben Heath frustrated by the result but added “I have to hide my true feelings as I would get myself into hot water if I was to give my honest views on the events”. Ben Kearney missed a penalty for Brymbo early on then not long after Anthony Dunleavy missed one for Penycae. Soon after, Brymbo then had Billy New carried off injured but his replacement Ryan Clarke broke the deadlock with his first touch with a splendid shot from way out. Just the one goal separated the sides at the break but Andrew Swarbrick levelled on 50 minutes. Brymbo restored their soon after through Jake Prescott but the hosts hit back again, this time through Calyn Spencer. Brymbo deservedly restored their lead through Ryan Clarke. Penycae refused to surrender and squared things through teenager Ruben Monteiro who finished well to take the score to 3-3. However, Brymbo got the killer goal on 87 minutes after Chris Boyes whipped in an inch perfect cross onto the head of Jamie Cumming who nodded home for his side to clinch a 4-3 success.